A Community Website by Lopez Island
Send Message
Other News
Inslee announces five regions to progress to Phase 2
Feb 11, 2021
By WA Governor's Office
Gov. Jay Inslee announced today five new regions have met the metric requirements to progress to Phase 2 of the Healthy Washington reopening plan, starting this weekend.
The West and Puget Sound regions have maintained their metric requirements to stay in Phase 2.

The new regions progressing to Phase 2 are:

North (Whatcom, Skagit, San Juan, Island)

North Central (Okanogan, Chelan, Douglas, Grant)

Northwest (Clallam, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason)

East (Ferry, Stevens, Pend Oreille, Lincoln, Spokane, Adams, Whitman, Garfield)

Southwest (Wahkiakum, Cowlitz, Skamania, Clark, Klickitat)

The only region not moving to Phase 2 is the South Central region - which includes Ellensburg, Yakima, the Tri-Cities and Walla Walla.

Additionally, the governor announced Thursday evening that the five regions progressing will be able to do so starting Sunday, Feb. 14. The holiday weekend provides a large portion of a restaurant's yearly revenue, and by moving up the region's reopening date will allow dining establishments to benefit.

"I know this creates more options for restaurants to make Valentine's Day special for couples who hoped they could have a night out," Inslee said. "I am confident people, young and old, will celebrate safely. And if it's a first date that doesn't go well, remind them to stay six feet away from you."